Using an Ad Blocker? Consider adding HadIt.com as an exception. Hadit.com is funded through advertising, ad free memberships, contributions and out of pocket. ×

Va Benefits For Surgery, Recovery?

Confirm orDeny

Question

I am a 25 yo GWOT veteran that is 50% SC with another claim pending.

While in the military I suffered from multiple injuries to my lower body which have been documented and I was awarded disability for Right lower extremity shin splints and a stress fracture in my right first tarsal metatarsal but have suffered from problems with instability in my ankle and right leg since.

Recently I fell down a hill at a park and severely sprained my ankle, broke my fibula and tore almost all the tendons in my ankle and leg.

I have to get multiple surgeries, with the first on thursday(3 days form now) and am in a temporary non walking cast but will be unable to bear weight on my leg for at least 6 months.

I am wondering what benefits I would be able to receive at the moment. I was working a job but my boss was paying me under the table and I wasn't paying into social security or unemployability. I was using the Chapter 33 GI Bill but I don't have a car and getting to school or anywhere is a challenge.

Also I don't have any family or siblings so I don't have anyone to really rely on or anyone to help me out, just my girlfriend as she can and I don't have a back home to move to.

I don't want to move into a halfway house or a homeless shelter, I just want to know what services or stopgaps exist for a situation such as this.

So What benefits or services should I look into?

Thank you very much.

• Answers 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

5 answers to this question

• HadIt.com Elder

The problem is that the VA often takes quite a long time to do much of anything.