VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Can I Get Benefits With My Health History?

Rate this question

puppyduks

Question

I am a gulf war vet, served in Dhahran from Nov-May. I was National Guard and got activated for the war, so after I came home I went back to being a guardsman(woman). I got an honorable discharge in 2006. Like so many others, I suffered from Gulf War syndrome and it has continued to this day. I never really pursued getting treatment or compensation for it because it was widely believed to be "all in our heads". Through the years I went to various private doctors for various ailments, but never tried to link them to Gulf War Syndrome. I have had pneumonia 5 times, bronchitis more times than I can count (every cold turns into bronchitis), my gallbladder stopped working and had to be removed, I have aching joints, chronic tiredness (not sleepiness), IBS, nausea/dizziness, wake up feeling unrested, PTSD, and on and on. Nothing that is extremely debilitating, I have a full time job with the federal government, but I have not spent a day without pain. It's like background noise to me after all these years.