VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Which Vet Association

Rate this question

kidbunch

Question

Hello I am a disabled Gulf War Veteran who is trying to decide which Veteran Advocate association is recommended in support of my claim with the VA concerning a claim for a service connected disability in the 1991 Gulf War? I am currently utilizing the VFW here in NW Florida to represent me when dealing with the VA. I have become very disappointed with their service. The VFW here only contacts the VA after I request from them an update on my claim. Their office, the VFW, has told me verbally several times that want me to never call the VA directly. But when I request an update from them also asking if they had called the VA they say they have no update and that have not called the VA. This does not sound right to me. I have strongly informed the VFW that my medical situation worsens by the day. It has become where I will be losing my employment very soon and being the father of 3 young children I see my ability to provide future financial support to be in jeopardy. The VFW's answer is we will look into it. They then request me to meet with them. I have done this several times over the past 6 months and when I do meet with them they have nothing new to discuss. Plus I have to take time off work to be there. I have asked them to tell me over the phone and through e-mail what will be the subject of the upcoming meeting. They always say it cannot be discussed over the phone. Then at the meeting there is nothing new to discuss. It is a waste of my time. I feel the VFW is only trying :o to justify their existence thus collect Veteran's dues. I am open to ideas.

Thanks

• Answers 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question