VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Need Advice - Jp4 And Benzene Exposure?

Rate this question

x020574

Question

I do have a Story and then a Question:

Story part:
I recently learned I have a illness with called Paroxysmal nocturnal hemoglobinuria (PNH)it is a rare disease in which red blood cells break down earlier than normal. I have read that benzene can cause these types of symptoms. I was a Jet Engine Mechanic from 1970-74 so I had 4 yrs of exposure to this stuff - but can it rear it's ugly head 40 years later? We use to use a cleaning solution (I don't recall the name but it was P-something). We used it in-shop to clean grease and carbon from internal engine parts. Being young and stupid, we used to joke about how it gave us a buzz.

Also a concern was my extensive exposure to jet engine JP4 fumes. When in -shop maintenance was performed (we actually took J75 Pratt-Whitney engines apart, inspected and rebuilt) There were days when one would get drench with JP4 when underneath and dropping a fuel pump. My fatigues and boots reeked of JP4 no matter how many times I washed them.

Question part:
I was 90% scheduler and recently got TDIU 100%. I would consider putting in a claim for this if I thought it would fly... what do you think my chances would be? It's not about the money, it's more I'm concerned about what I can provide for my wife if I were to pass on as a result of one of my illness. I used to think it will be the IHD that will take me someday and that I am SC for, but now PNH can get nasty fast and that I am not SC for.

71M10 - thank you for the advice!

Edited by x020574

Was it PD 680?

The Paroxysmal nocturnal hemoglobinuria is a ratable condition and this vet was at 60% for it, when the BVA remanded his claim: