VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

C&p States Employed Full Time -- Incorrect

Rate this question

Snake Eyes

Question

At my mental health C&P, the examiner asked about what I do and I explained I work part time as an independent contractor teaching online classes and I gave her info on the typical annual earnings. She asked how many hours I work and I said between 15 and 20 for the contract, but more unpaid (coming up with ideas for new classes in hopes of getting a bigger contract). When she asked how much I work total, I drew a blank and just said, "I don't know... maybe 40 or 50 hours".

When I got home, I did the math and it is nowhere near that much, and certainly not done in one sitting like a 9 to 5 job. I included hours of thinking, reading trade books, articles and jotting down goals.

Anyway... on my C&P exam it says I am employed full time at 40 to 50 hours weekly.

Can this be corrected without raising concerns that I gave her bad info intentionally?

Self-employed earning below poverty is not the same as employed full time. The kind of "work" I do and the sporadic nature of when I'm able to sit at a desk make the work about as non-traditional as I've every heard of :-) I'm scheduled for less than half the classes next year compared to this past year.

Looks like you have made an innocent admission of truth that the VA can amplify (lie) and use against you. The VA probably had an orgasm when they read your report as this is their entire sex life.

Problem is, when you mail in a letter trying to correct the misunderstanding, it will just make the situation worse and make you look more like a liar. Then comes their second orgasm when they reopen your entire file.