vlb-all-products.jpg

Get Every E-Book and Video with Member Discount Code HADIT2016

Popular Forums Common VA Disabilities

Memory235

When You Speak About Your Sw Asia Experience

Question

Memory235    4

Now before I go on you have to understand that my family is a military service family. The man I'm named after was a Union Veteran from the CW. My dad is named after a vet who fought in the Revolutionary War. Both grandparents fought in WW2; one stayed in for the first few years of Korea. My father Vietnam. My brothers Desert Storm/Shield and me in OIF. I have a doctoral level degree, I speak three languages fluently and am a generally even keel guy. Well, my BA is totally unrelated to my doctorate. But, a PHD I know gave me an invite to lecture his class. I spoke a little nervously. I am a research guy I've never been too inclined to teach. Even though docere is the exact definition of Doctor. I believe writing articles, researching texts and translating texts; Is my way of living up to the phrase " to teach". I digress. After the lecture I was smoking a cigarette and a rather liberal professor accosted me. He had somehow heard that I was a combat veteran. He proceeded to tell me that the war was illegal, we were war criminals etc. Well, before I knew it experiences of IEDs, Suicide Attacks and Mortar rounds hitting the FOB were pouring out. Next thing I know.... I'm smashing this man's face. Well, I ended up sitting in a corner crying. Police were called and of course I described to them with great emotion what had happened. They said " he hit you first didn't he?" I answered I don't know. It's like I blacked out. The cop who happened to be a National Guardsman fresh back from the Stan'.... Told me that he would be writing this up as a self defense case. He'd take the case to the prosecutor because no one witnessed the initial altercation. But, I am checking myself into a VA PTSD program. I always think I have something under control and I fall apart. I got a