VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Increase In Va Rating

Rate this question

cw4 retired

Question

I am a 20 year retired vet and receive retired pay. I was also rated by VA at 50% in 2006. Today I received a letter stating I am now at 80% based on a re-evaluation I started July 2013. So my question is: will my retired pay stay the same and my VA compensation increase? This is a very confusing document.

• Answers 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

6 answers to this question

Your retired pay for up to the 80% will be waived now, up from your 50% that is currently waived, so your taxable retired pay will go down, but the overall should remain the same, i believe. It just changes your tax liability. Since most likely you are receiving CRDP based on your 20 yr retirement. Anything from the VA must be waived since it is non taxable. Are you receiving CRSC, must apply to your branch of service, if you are eligibile? if so you will have the option next month to choose between CRSC (Non taxable) and CRDP. You can't get both CRSC & CRDP. both of these are just restoring your retirement pay that has been waived from the VA. I took a stab at this, sorry if anything I am saying isnt 100% accurate.

reference example: VA comp for 80% is currently 1551.48 for vet alone, no dependents...vs 50% is 836.13

so most likely your retired pay will have 1551.48 waived by DFAS then you get the rest as CRDP (Taxable) + VA 80% tax free= your net

Edited by USMC_HVEQ