VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Sleep apnea secondary to TBI

Rate this question

Carlos daniel

Question

Hello everyone. I'm new to this forum and had a question in regards to getting compensation for sleep apnea. I know hey are making it harder for vets to get compensation for sleep apnea these days. I finally have my C&P exam tomorrow. I was told some time ago that it may be hard for me to get compensation for OSA because I didn't get diagnosed with it until after I separated from the military. I separated in 2008 and when I finally had my first physical from the VA in 2009 the physician recommended that I have a sleep study completed. I have been using a CPAP since 2009. I have no idea why I did not submit my claim after being diagnosed. I suppose it was because I was content with the current compensation that I was receiving. I was told from a friend that works at the VA that I have a better chance of getting compensation for sleep apnea by claiming it as a secondary to my TBI. My current percentage for TBI is 70%. Any advice would be appreciated. Will keep posted with results.  

6 answers to this question