VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Cygon exposure at Eleuthera, Bahamas

Rate this question

Stetson Vet Clinic

Question

My name is Cameron, and I am a law student at Stetson University College of Law. I work in the Veterans Advocacy Clinic at Stetson, which provides free help to veterans trying to get their disability benefits from the VA. The Clinic uses student interns, like me, to do research on behalf of the veterans. Our job is to find the information that the VA needs, so that they can provide an accurate disability rating for the veteran.

I am currently working on an appeal where we need some help finding testimony that would support the claim of one of our clients.

I am working with a veteran who has developed Multiple Sclerosis as a result of handling a pesticide called Cygon. He was stationed as a naval corpsman (medic) at the naval base in Eleuthera, Bahamas, sometime between 1967 and 1969. Part of his job duties included spraying pesticides around the base. The Clinic has been able to find some evidence that chemicals in Cygon can lead to development of Multiple Sclerosis, but we have not yet found any evidence that Cygon was ever used at the naval base in Eleuthera, Bahamas.  We have contacted the DoD pesticide agency and they say they don’t have records that go back that far.