VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Cant Stop Thinking About My Claim

Rate this question

Okemos_Veteran74

Question

Hello,

I am posting this, because I am looking for support.

I am a vet (TBI & PTSD).  I have been waiting over five years for my claim to be resolved.  

I think about it constantly.  I call my VSO and/or the 800 number at least once a day.

Has anyone else had trouble with nearly constant rumination on their claim to where it interferes with other aspects of their life?

• Answers 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

6 answers to this question

Yes, many of us have.  I have spent "way too much time" on my claim, altho not all of it was productive.  

I recommend:

1.  Dont check ebenefits more than about 4 times per week (not per day).  

2.  Dont call your VSO more than about once a month.  They quickly get into "dont return xxx's calls mode".  

My VSO got into the "dont return my calls mode" 3 seconds after I signed a POA.  

3.  Get a hobby or work your old hobby. Answer other Vets questions on hadit (you will learn a lot).   Go fishing, play with grandkids, start going to church, play chess, do woodworking, or improve your relationship with your wife.  Focus on improving things with friends.  Go to McDonalds at 8:30 in the morning and sit with the old guys and ask them to share their stories.  Then share yours.  At my McDonalds senior coffee is 59 cents, and I can get unlimited free refills on that day.  When you are, what my church says, "building relationships that make a difference", the time goes by quickly and I feel like I am serving God.  

4.  When you focus on helping other's problems, yours will be helped too.  

Edited by broncovet