VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Do you need to be diagnosed in service for sleep apnea?

Rate this question

mouse12555

Question

I have been diagnosed with sleep apnea during an overnight VA facility test, and have an APAP machine . My psychologist who monitors my PTSD, ( 50 % disability) suggested I take the test . I have been told you need to have been diagnosed with sleep issues  during my period of service . I am a Vietnam vet . To my knowledge there was no such thing back in 1967 thru 1970 period where I spent  3 consecutive years as a medic in the Far East theater. I didn't even have one medical exam during that time for anything . Just self treatment. 

My question: is is true you need to have been diagnosed while in the military?

• Answers 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

6 answers to this question

• HadIt.com Elder

yes you do need a Dx for sleep apnea

you need 3 things

A CURRENT DIAGNOSIS.

A current diagnosis means you currently have the condition for which you are seeking benefits.   the current diagnosis is present.

VA diagnosed the veteran with sleep apnea and prescribe a CPAP.  So ,the veteran should have satisfied that element of proof.

But, the current diagnosis is not the only part that you have to prove to VA.  You also have to prove two additional elements.

AN INCURRENCE OR AGGRAVATION OF SLEEP APNEA DURING YOUR ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY SERVICE

Your sleep apnea either had to start or worsen during your military service.  This is part of the idea of service connection.  It is a connection between your service and the condition for which you are claiming compensation.