VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

How can I prove OTC NSAID Usage

Rate this question

Armypilot44

Question

Hello all, I have been using Ibuprofen and Aleve for well over 18 years (2000) to help with chronic arthritis symptoms from Lyme Disease.  I was service connected in 2009 for the Polyarthralgia and have since have major issues with my esophagus and stomach since 2006.  I have undergone 5 Endoscopies, 2 Barium Swallows, a Bravo PH Test, and a Manometry Study since 2007.  I departed the National Guard in 2010.  Today I had my C&P Exam at the VA and the Dr said I had a very strong case with only one link missing in the chain.  I have no record of being prescribed NSAID's.  After the arthritis symptoms started, I basically took a daily dosage of Ibuprofen and Aleve.  Between 2001 and 2007, I didn't regularly see doctors because my health was generally good besides the arthritis pain.  I substituted my Army Flight Physical for an annual physical as it was more stringent.  I told my current Dr that I took NSAID's but he never really documented it.  There is no prescriptions because obviously my insurance will not pay for simple OTC NSAIDs.  My roommate from Iraq said he would write a "Buddy Letter". stating he witnessed me take Ibuprofen Daily and how I needed to walk the PT test instead of running due to the Arthritis.  Is there any other ways that I am not thinking of to prove I was taking NSAIDs since 2001.  I wish I had kept the receipts.  Thank you

Edited by Armypilot44

6 answers to this question