VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

80% disability, should I file for TDIU?

Rate this question

kidhuff3

Question

So I am receiving 70% for social anxiety disorder and unspecified depressive disorder, totaling 80%. I am finding it harder and harder to find and keep a full time job in my career field. I currently work part time in another field, making far less than I would if I were working in my field, and it is directly related to my social anxiety disorder. Im thinking of filing for TDIU, but from what i hear they look over my whole situation and it would be a disaster if they lower my rating for any reason, but I think I have a valid reason for filing for TDIU. I am a certified surgical tech, so obviously that requires a high level of social interaction, which is the problem.

Should I file for TDIU, or just leave it alone because a reduction would be devastating to my finances right now. What are the odds of reduction? 

• Answers 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

4 answers to this question

• HadIt.com Elder

If you absolutely can't work due to your S.C. Social anxiety  and  unspecific depressive disorders @80% and you have a medical opinion from a qualified Dr to state such  & letter from your employer saying why they had to let you go ect,,ect,,,  you can file for the IU  you need to file for it  VA will not inferre it  ..and your not working now  ect,,,ect,,

Did the VA do a DSM 5 PTSD Testing/screening on you? 

you can only be rated for one mental condition for compensation purposes  but have other diagnoses with MH.