VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Question about Appeal Process

Rate this question

Austin0520

Question

Hi Everyone,

Thanks again to everyone for contributing their experience on this site, it has been so helpful in getting through the process! 

My claim was recently denied (again). This time, for the first time, I appealed and decided to get help from Dr. Bash and a lawyer. I’ve been battling these claims on and off for 5 years and this was my last try...had to make it a good one.

My question is what happens next? I just filed the NOD and the lawyer submitted the form requesting a DRO. Does anyone know how long is it taking these days for a response from the DRO? Is this where I wait 3-5 years? Just not sure what to expect from the appeal process. 

Also, does anyone know how long the CUE process takes? I’m assuming the 3-5 years or longer?

Thank you again to everyone for sharing.

• Answers 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

You can file a CUE on the recent decision-if it contains a legal error-

but, can you scan and attach the recent denial here to include the evidence list they used.

"Also, does anyone know how long the CUE process takes? I’m assuming the 3-5 years or longer?"

Most of my CUEs and one I filed for my daughter took mere weeks ( on decisions that we had just received.Resolved favorably)

My longest CUEs, one filed in 2003 and another filed in 2004 took until 2012 to be awarded.

None of my CUEs went to the BVA- I sure hoped the 2003-2004 CUEs would get there- but they were awarded just prior to transfer ( by a different RO)