VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Marginal Employment and Telework

Rate this question

hollyda31

Question

I have a question about marginal employment and the "protected environment" thing... I have migraines (should be 50% - waiting on the appeal which should be finished in November), chronic fatigue syndrome (about to appeal on that one; should be 60%), and PTSD (mid-appeal for that; should be 50%). I got out of the military in 2001. Before my military service, during my military service, and immediately after my military service, I worked as an admin professional (was personnel in the military). In 2002, my disabilities were getting too severe, and I had to quit working full-time because of it. I was taking too many sick days and half days because I just couldn't do a full day of work.

It never even dawned on me to file disability until 2014, when I started the process with my migraines. In all those intervening years, I did odd jobs, temp assignments, part-time work, and was a homemaker. Because the chronic fatigue comes and goes, I could do temp assignments as long as I started the assignment just AFTER a relapse; my relapses come about 6-9 months apart (usually, although it varies), so a 3-month temp that fell into my healthy period worked out okay, but full-time, long-term stuff was just out of the question.