VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Which regulation prohibits the recording of C&P exams?

Rate this question

63Charlie

Question

While I didn't dig around looking for the specific VA policy prohibiting the recording of a C&P exam. I did go digging around for the federal statute on 18 U.S. Code § 2511 - Interception and disclosure of wire, oral, or electronic communications prohibited. Section 2(d) is interesting.  The link is "https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/18/2511". Now, I'm not a lawyer, just some poor schmuck caught in the system. It seems to me that federal law supercedes agency policy on any given sunday. I will say this. I wish to holy xxxx I had recorded my C&P exam. Lesson, at least for me, learned.

I'm sure one of the more knowledgeable folk will chime in with a better answer.

• HadIt.com Elder

I don't have the regulations that say were not allowed to, but I don't think were allowed to bring in type of recording devise to our C&P Exam. I remember reading about that  some where??...but we can bring our spouse or a well known friend for moral support!

Edited by Buck52

53 minutes ago, Buck52 said:

I don't have the regulations that say were not aloud to, but I don't think were aloud to bring in type of recording devise to our C&P Exam. I remember reading about that  some where??...but we can bring our spouse or a well known friend for support!

I had two C&P doctors that did three C&P's on me and they prohibited me from bringing my wife in with me.  The C&P's were way out of line too.  The last C&P the doctor told me "I thought I had already taken care of you."  The doctor accused me of malingering.

• HadIt.com Elder

I see no reasons why not?