VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

How to Prove Boots on Ground or Ship Docked to Pier

Rate this question

alliem

Question

Hi, my dad was in the navy on USS Ranger from 1969-1975, and he is positive that Ranger docked to pier in Vietnam on numerous occasions, and that he went off ship on work details, so he did have boots on ground. However, the USS Ranger is not on the VA's presumptive ship list. I am brand new to all things VA. I only have his DD-214, which says nothing useful.  Is there any way I can gather evidence that either a) he had boots on ground, or b) Ranger docked to pier in Vietnam?

One person at VA suggested reviewing the ship logs in the national archives, but that mostly only lists coordinates and has very little detail. Alternatively, an environmental health coordinator at the VA said when we go in for the AO Registry Exam, they'll ask him about having boots on ground and decide on the spot whether he qualifies -- that didn't seem like a great prospect, given that Ranger is not on the ship list.  Any input from anyone who has been in a similar situation would be helpful. Thank you! 

• Answers 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

I believe his ship had 13 battle stars for service  during the Vietnam War.

The USS Ranger was a Foresstal – class supercarrier and a brief search of her history gives no indication she ever docked in Vietnam. This type of ship is enormous and also was equiped with long range firing capability-

which means -why would it dock in Vietnam?

I found only one case at the BVA for AO due to USS Ranger but the veteran was denied as he had provided no evidence at all that the ship had docked in Vietnam.