VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

PTSD Medication

Rate this question

navyguy357

Question

I'm currently talking setraline, hydroyzine, and prazosin to get a diagnosis for PTSD. Sleeping has improved and I am better able to get through the day at work and personal life without having panic attacks or nightmares. Symptoms have not gone away completely but better. Is the medication I'm taking normally linked to PTSD or are they the  beginning medicine that doctors start with?  I've been working on getting my diagnosis for about 4 months now and my record states my diagnosis for PTSD is not yet confirmed. I'm thinking the doctor is waiting on me to state medicine is working or is better so she can make the diagnosis or change medication. She has changed dosage a couple of times already. How should I proceed before making a claim?

5 answers to this question

A diagnosis of PTSD is less about medications or  symptoms, more about "verification of stressor" in service.  

Do you have your stressor documented?  If not, that is likely the reason for the hesitancy in diagnosing PTSD.  Compensation for PTSD requires documentation of a stressor.  EXCEPTION: 

If you are a combat Vet, then a stressor is pretty much assumed.  Even if you never shot at anyone or even got shot at, its enough just the threat of being shot at.  

Edited by broncovet

• Lead Moderator