VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

VA wants another new C&P audio exam

Rate this question

pointer123

Question

I am a retired Marine infantry Officer and have been rated for tinnitus at 10% and hearing loss at 0% since 1997 when I retired. My hearing got consistently worse over the years .  In June 2017, I decided to claim additional disabilities related to arthritis, my eyes (diplopia), vertigo, an increase in my hearing loss, and TDIU.  I was a Marine parachutist and scuba diver and was diagnosed with left ankle arthritis via x-ray in 1981. Because I was diagnosed with this chronic disease while  in service, I think this should be supportive of my existing arthritis claims.  I currently  have x-ray documentation of arthritis in virtually every joint. 

However, I want to focus on the increase in hearing loss aspect of my claim.  They rated my June 1997 claim in March 2018 and gave me a combined 80%. Relative to hearing loss and tinnitus, I got a VA half-baked hearing exam at a VA C&P exam  which continued my hearing loss at 0%. All the audiologist performed was, in my opinion, a biased air conduction test and speech discrimination test.