VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Veterans Law Blog strategy vs eBenefits

Rate this question

glashutte

Question

I studied Veterans Law Blog and he recommends mailing in your claim and organizing the documents like so (see attached). However, is this the old school way to do it?

The only way to do this on eBenefits is to type everything out and attach it as a file in supporting documents. And it would be a lot of files

Screen Shot 2019-06-24 at 10.48.21 PM.png

Screen Shot 2019-06-24 at 10.48.35 PM.png

478616090_ScreenShot2019-06-24at10_48_44PM.thumb.png.6e48dd3b2ffda2bf5ca51b26ce6e8268.png

Edited by glashutte

2 hours ago, glashutte said:

I studied Veterans Law Blog

i feel compelled to make sure you do understand a fine point. you may already know it, but I want to make sure.

A VA claim for compensation is not like a typical disability claim that SSI or AFLAK mean.

For VA purposes compensation is paid based on the concept of the what work the AVERAGE PERSON with a particular harm can do. In other words, how will the claimed harm affect your ability to earn an income.

That standard and most of the regs were written decades ago so contemplate the average person earning a living in farming or manufacturing. White collar work, not so much.

A farmer with only one hand cannot earn as much as one with two hands... that type of framework.

So when you put in a claim for compensation you must convince the VA that your claimed condition harms your ability to earn an average persons income.

understanding this is key to how you frame your arguments to the VA. you must convince them that having bad breathe, or whatever,  means you cannot earn money

Just now, glashutte said:

Or should I let me C&P exam decide this?