VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Operation Dominic I, Need duty rosters, ships logs, duty logs, anything - June 62-December 62

Rate this question

Ronald W. Remington

Question

Looking for anything that might show I was on the USS Tolovana during Operation Dominic.  I was a Radar Tech, when we were ordered on deck, told to sit down and put our head between our legs as they set Nukes.  I am now terminal with AML Leukemia.  Any information would be helpful as the National Archives has sent all records to the VA for scanning during this time period, which means claimants cannot access any information until after February of 2020.  Nice people.

Ron

sirwilbur@rmailbox.info

• HadIt.com Elder

Ronald I wish you well. Operation Dominic was another intelligent choice made by our military to use servicemen as guinea pigs in the early sixties. Still goes on today with anthrax  and other inoculations, burn pits, etc. I found this on a quick search: https://archive.org/details/OperationDOMINICNuclearTests1962  There are several related seraches articles attached to it. Proving you were on your ship and the ship participated in the atmospheric atomic tests would be an important factor in your claim. Also try to see in there are any navy ship associations you can contact. Also suggest putting "looking for"adds in several of the veterans service monthly magazines like the American Legion and VFW might get you some contacts. Time is most important to your situation, so work on it hard. Ms Berta on Hadit may have some ideas on your quest for ships logs info; maybe she has something to suggest.

Again, best of luck.