VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

SEI (Special Employment Incentive)

Rate this question

slangpdx

Question

I have been working with voc rehab in Portland OR for several years and just got assigned a new counselor.  I want to ask them about SEI where the VA pays the employer 50% of the wage for six months - it is right in the VA handbook handed out at the VA hospital on p. 19, I am attaching a scan.  Does anyone have experience with it or know about it?  The office seems to only want to send vets to school at a community college, there is no real job search or employment connection.  I took two courses at their insistence and got A's in each, but I have 20 years experience in my field and my current counselor understands that additional training is not going to help me at the age of 64.  I am 70% SC and also receiving SSD. 

I had gotten an employer willing to hire me under this SEI as a news reporter intern in 1983, but the VA nixed it because they said that wasn't a "real profession" - they would pay an employer for anything else including stacking boxes in a pencil factory, but not journalism.  Don't know if that was just the personal bias of that VA employee or not.  To be clear:  not looking for journalism job at this time, just something in my own field of 20 years, computers. 

Anyone know about SEI?  tx

seiVA.pdf

• Answers 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

2 answers to this question

Great question.  This is "one" of those benefits VA doesnt want Vets to know about.  Did you appeal the denial, or was it a "verbal" denial?   If not, you should.