VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Panic attack before flight

I suffer from ptsd and panic attack so I got flight insurance to protect me from losing money.I got Delta’s flight insurance and before flight three days, they were discussing how a former federal whistle blower was saying how it wasn’t safe to fly doing holiday, as day was getting closer my attacks got worse, I cancel my flight but Deltas Allianz insurance said my panic attacks weren’t cover-under the policy. As a veteran I am disappointed and asking for help from the Hadit community about what should I do. I. Appealed their decision. Thanks 

• HadIt.com Elder

You said you have PTSD and suffer from panic attacks, etc. I noticed from your profile that you don't have any s-c disabilities. Are you working on them or have you been denied? Are you receiving medical/professional help? I hope so; if not, ask for help and there are plenty of veterans on this blog that can help you thru the process. Now, as for your flight insurance policy, like everything we buy it is always "Buyer beware." Did you read the fine print on the contract. It doesn't count what a sales clerk told you verbally; it's about what is in the policy. It more than likely won't cover that type of claim. It may list types that they will expressly cover, like illness, but if you consider that the high anxiety that comes to many people when it comes to flying, if they covered everyone who said that they decided it was too stressful, they would go broke. The only advise I can offer is to read it thoroughly and, if you think it is worth the effort, take them to (small claims) court and/or seek legal advise. But get some help with your MH situation air1.