VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

VA will not give me a CPAP without travel to major area clinic

Rate this topic

I am new to VA since January 2020 and have a 70% rating.  I have been using a CPAP for a year and it has worked well.  My machine is about shot (bought it used).  I was approved to get a new unit from the VA but they said I had to drive up to Montgomery, Alabama (2++ hr. each way) to pick it up in person.  I told them at my age and with the complications of COPD and oxygen I did not feel safe traveling that far.

They have refused to mail me a machine which is exactly like the one I am using now and have used for a year.  I asked to have it mailed to me and they said no.  I asked to have it sent to a local DME and then do telehealth with the clinic - they said no.  So we have gone around on this for 2+ months now and it seems unreasonable, especially now with this virus stuff.

I went to the advocate who lucky for me is in another state!!!  She has done nothing to help and just tells me it has been refereed to management ... I aske my primary 3 times about this and she passes the buck back to the clinic.

So I can't get past the advocate who is worthless and the CPAP clinic says TS. Is my only option to just roll over and beg or play dead?  If this is VA health care it really sucks and I can't imaging what folks who are totally dependent on it must put up with.

Any advice how to get this VA in Alabama to help?

Thank you

I know our local DAV has a van for taking vets to appointments. Could you perhaps get a ride there that way?