VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Proper Form to Use for Submission of a C.U.E. Claim

Rate this question

Harvey Ryan

Question

Hello all,

My name is Harvey Ryan.  I'm an Air Force veteran, rated at 100%.  I could really use some help.  I've been attempting to submit a Request for Revision concerning an Earlier Effective Date for Service Connection for Migraine Headaches based on a C.U.E.  I don't know what form to use.  I was granted service connection for migraines with an effective date of December 2009 (the decision was made back in 2015).  It was based on newly discovered service records that I'd been arguing were present for 15 years.  The decision was made in my favor, however, they didn't consider the claim back to the original denial, which was June of 1993.  My argument is based on the following:  "38 CFR 3.156  Section (c) , as is outlined in M21-1MR Section 2a and 2d.  CFR 3.156 Section (c): This exception deals with newly discovered service department records or records that existed at the time the VA made its decision and simply did not associate with the claim.  If the claim was denied previously, but then granted on records which have recently been discovered, the regulation requires that the VA consider an effective date back to the time of the previously denied claim."  In the decision letter, the effective date was only given to the date of 'receipt of my claim to reopen': .   “In light of the evidence, an evaluation of 50 percent is assigned from December 14, 2009, the date of receipt of your claim to reopen your claim for service connection.”   My argument is, because the regulation was NOT properly applied (direct contradiction to the mandate of evaluating from the date of the original denial,