VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

TDIU

Rate this question

Combat eng

Question

I checked my decision letter again and as I said before there is no mention of SSDI anywhere in the evidence section. I know that the VA had it because I sent the judge's ruling as a part of my packet. I appreciate all of your help, but I'm new at this. I've gotten myself this far but now I need assistance. I've got to look up all of the abbreviations you used to further understand. I have no way to scan my decision letter is there any other way? What is the difference between CUE and NOD, and do they both require new evidence?

3 answers to this question

NOD is a Notice of Disagreement with a VA decision made by a veteran or his/her representative within one full year of a VA rating decision. That simply means that the veteran can file a NOD with or without new evidence. The veteran keeps the benefit of doubt and his or her effective date all the way through his or her appeal.  It is best to file a disagreement within a year.

Cue claims are different and harder animals to kill but Ms. Berta, Bronc and myself have killed those suckers a few times but for me it is a last resort because it is very fickle and you can file them all the way to the federal court and lose. Cue claims are a Clear and Unmistakable Error. The veteran loses the benefit of doubt once he or she files this type of claim. If a veteran wins his or her claim, he or she would also keep his or her effective date.