VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

VA Denying Residential Substance Abuse Treatment During Pandemic

Rate this question

lhecker51

Question

I am a veteran and so is my son. He is an honorably discharged veteran, but had a severe addiction to narcotics when he got out. During the pandemic, the VA shut down the residential treatment (DETOX) program and they REFUSE to refer veterans for treatment at facilities that are open, which are all facilities in the US EXCEPT the VA.  He is stuck and I am watching him die slowly before my eyes. I have contacted our senator and congressmen, but they cannot get back to us for 7 days. I keep Narcan with me as there is a very real risk of him overdosing. His therapist says the best they can do is outpatient care, but he is FAR beyond that. I am at a loss of what to do next as I was under the false impression that if the VA cannot treat him, they must refer him out to a facility that can. Am I wrong? This is a service connected disability and he has an 80 percent rating. I would imagine there are MANY veterans being turned away from critical detox treatment during the pandemic. It is my opinion that it is very true that veterans die waiting for treatment and not much has change other than reshuffling the deck chairs on the Titanic of veterans care.

Edited by lhecker51

5 answers to this question

• HadIt.com Elder

lhecker51 I assume you have used the crisis hotline 800-273-8255. I'd be on that constantly. The only other thing I would try that jumps out is the whitehouse hotline 855-948-2311; they may just refer back to the crisis hotline, I don't know. Don't give up! Keep at it.

• Lead Moderator