Harm in calling the VA?

drago

Question

Hi All,

I’m new to the VA system and new to the forum so please accept an apology in advance if I’m doing this wrong.

In a nutshell, I’m 57 years old, and received a VA rating of 70% for PTSD, and a subsequent rating for TBI for injuries that happened in the Army 35 years ago. The TBI is lumped in with the PTSD because they say it is hard to say what is PTSD and what is TBI. The rating was given just over a year ago when I was 56.

I was under the impression that since I was over 55 years old, the rating would be “locked”, and would not be revisited/re-examined/re-evaluated unless I asked for an increase. 

I have a claim that is progressing for hypersonia that a civilian doctor diagnosed and said is “definitely” related to the TBI. QTC robo called and said to get in touch with them to schedule an appointment. When I called them back, they said the appointment is for a re-eval for the PTSD and TBI, and did not mention hypersomnia. 

I can’t find anything that says that PTSD/TBI is an exception to the age 55 rule, but perhaps I misunderstand that rule. So two questions I’m hoping someone can help with: 1. Does the re-eval seem correct? I read somewhere in my research that upwards of 35% of VA re-evals are not required and are actually mistakes. And 2. Would there be any harm in calling the VA to talk it through? I also read that the VA “writes EVERYTHING down” and I don’t want to create extra problems for myself with a phone call.

Ultimately, I’m not opposed to a re-eval, as overall I’m in worse shape than I was a year ago, but going through the process of recounting things led to a bad few days, and I simply don’t want to do it again if not necessary. Also, I had a bad experience with the TBI evaluator not reflecting what I actually said, and that’s concerning for this re-eval.

Thoughts from the group?