VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Deductibles??!?! or is it really a Premium?

blahsaysme2u

Question

so wife finally using Champva. first claim processed and we get a bill in the mail. its $50 more than the doctors services tally up to. 

we call champva today and they let us know this is the deductible. but this doesn't makes sense to me. i worked in the insurance field for few years dealing with medicare and medicaid along with biggies like HUMANA and BCBS etc. from what i understand the doctor bill us for about 2k. champva paid their 75% and then they added the $50 bucks on top of our 25% co-insure payments(they didnt like me calling it a copay on the phone btw...they kept correcting me saying its "cost share") 

so, after we get off the call because i could see we were going no where and my wife was getting very frustrated, i did some googling just to make sure i wasnt crzy. i cant find any definition of the deductible in any of the champva info. i did however double check other insurances definitions and they all said something to the effect "pay for approved services billed at insurance allowables by the doctor up to the deductible amount and then coinsurance kicks in until max out of pocket" 

so what is going on here? why is champva defining a deductible as a separate billed line item on a doctor bill, completely separate from services provided by the doctor? and who is getting this money? seems like the doctors office is? are they sending our deductible payment to champva after champva has paid our bill? this all seems so hooky!

HELP?!?!?