VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Ask Your VA Claims Question  

Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Technical question, claims processing

Rate this question

Rivet62

Question

I worked as a civilian federal employee at a VAMC. I thought that my employment records would be a breeze for HR, to fill out the VA Form 21-4192 (REQUEST FOR EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION IN CONNECTION WITH CLAIM FOR DISABILITY BENEFITS)...for my TDIU claim.  And besides, the VHA is under the VA and the VBA is under the VA. Right? 

I could just lean back with my arms crossed and my feet propped up and let the records play out on their own.  Easy.

Oh no it isn't easy..

The most important positions I have held, and most recent positions I have held, that support my TDIU claim are with this VAMC where I worked.

My employment records are no longer STORED at the VAMC where I worked.  In fact, the VAMC where I was employed cannot even verify that I worked there.  Why?  Because upon employee separation they send all the records up to the National Personnel Records Center and it gets stored at the Office of Personnel Management in my Official Personnel Folder. On top of that, the old VISTA computer program has been replaced and whatever they could have retrieved is no longer accessible, this according to Payroll.

In other words, there is no one to fill out the VA Form 21-4192, and all that can be had is a big thick folder of scans maybe. And we see how long it's taking to get our military records because of Covid...  It would take months and months if ever.