VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

CRSC Question

Rate this question

Vync

Question

• Content Curator/HadIt.com Elder

I'm not an expert on Combat Related Special Compensation (CRSC), but wanted to ask others for their thoughts on it in relation to a veteran who retired after almost 25 years of service. While serving, the veteran had a number of injuries and also served in Vietnam (although not engaging in combat). After retiring in the early 90s, he was awarded 10% for a joint disability and 0% for heart. Of course, he only gets his military retirement pay because he does not meet the 50% rating for concurrent receipt of both. The 0% was for a heart rhythm disorder which at the time did not meet 10% or higher criteria. During a 5pm Retreat ceremony, he stood too close to the cannon and was knocked out cold. Of course, he woke up in the hospital diagnosed with a heart rhythm disorder. Apparently, CRSC can be awarded if it was due to "instrumentality of war".

Questions:

Is it possible for him to qualify for CRSC given the fact that his heart rhythm disorder was caused by a cannon (an instrumentality of war)?

If he has a chance of getting this applied, is there any way to request retroactive payments of the 10% VA compensation that was never paid to him?

Thanks!

5 answers to this question