VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

VA Disability Claims Articles

Ask Your VA Claims Question | Current Forum Posts Search | Rules | View All Forums
VA Disability Articles | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users

• hohomepage-banner-2024-2.png

• 27-year-anniversary-leaderboard.png

advice-disclaimer.jpg

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Is This A Success Story? Need Some Advice...

Rate this topic

NJ_Devil_Dog

I just received my rating for SC PTSD, they rated me 30%, stating that I had a GAF score of 50, with 55-60 assigned for the last twelve months. I've only recently started seeing a VA psychologist in the past five months and I obtained a copy of my first progress note from our first session and he rated me with a GAF of 41. During my next appointment with him he told me that he gave me the GAF of 41 because he was worried that if he had rated me any lower his supervisor would've questioned him why I wasn't admitted for care at the facility.

I am a full time student, however in the past year since returning from Afghanistan I have not been able to complete not even one semester at school. To make a long story short, I believe that I meet the qualifications for a higher rating. My question is: How typical is it for the VA raters to 'low-ball' awards decisions?

Here's the second part of my story. I am a 're-tread', having served in the Marine Corps from '87-'92, and then reenlisting in 2001 with the National Guard. I was awarded the CAR during the Gulf War, and had already been denied my original claim from '95. The claims award I just received was from that re-opened claim for which I had to submit new and material evidence.