Read VA Disability Claims Articles
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Food Allergy Help

Rate this question

Scott D

Question

I have been seeking service connection for food allergies since 2005. Food allergens are causing scar tissue and inflammation in my esophagus that causes the in ability to swallow. My treatment plan has recommended switching to a liquid elemental diet, but my health insurance views that as a nutritional supplement and requires anywhere from a $1000 or more out of pocket to cover costs. I have been trying to get the VA to connect food allergies with the esophagus stricture (currently service connected).

In my SMR the food allergies were written as Oral Allergy Syndrome and for this reason service connection was denied approx 2008.

Should they have service connected Oral Allergy Syndrome???

I am still attempting service connection for food allergies with the evidence below. What else should I obtain prior to submission.

The following is submitted as requested by decision letter (VA requested information that may show IBS (service connected) may be secondary to food allergies): Not sure how to get this info.

The veteran is submitting evidence that is contained in the Service medical record that shows evidence of allergic conditions present in service.

Attached are copies of pages from the SMR which indicates allergic conditions and treatment.

Attachments:

1. Health Surveillance form dated 16 Jun 03 Where allergies, asthma etc… was checked.

2. SMR page dated 09 Jul 2003 Patient presenting food allergy to fruit/vegetables with throat closing (cucumber, melon, orange, bananas, and tomatoes). Possible food allergies refer to allergy clinic.