VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA   Claims Questions | Click To Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles   View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Why Is Varo Not Recognizing Gw Service?

Rate this question

jmlo

Question

I have a claim that was recently denied under DRO. While they were "reviewing" I found out that I was eligible to be on the GW registry and scheduled for an exam. They canceled my exam twice but I ended up going anyway on the second time and they took me in, verified my service and did the exam. In the meantime, I sent the VARO a letter explaining this "new evidence" and then they quickly denied my case, stating that "although the doctor mentioned that the fibro is most likely service connected, he didn't base his opinion on a review of your medical records".

No where in the soc did it mention my GW service or that I am a GW vet. I also replied with a letter citing the CFR on this issue and where they made the mistake in applying the code, I also asked for a hearing at the VARO. They replied with a hearing date but again didn't mention the GW service. I thought they would issue a supplemental statement of the case after considering this new evidence. Whey have they not acknowledged this new evidence? Am I missing something?

Also, my hearing date is Jan 9th. I have done everything on my own and with the help of this board but now I feel like I need some help. Will the DAV be able to help on such short notice? I plan to contact my rep there this week.