Read Disability Claims Articles
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

VA denial for two presumptive PACT ACT conditions

Rate this question

Chief1997

Question

I’m a gulf war veteran that was exposed to particular matter during military service in southwest Asia under the new pact act. My exposure in the golf war area is acknowledged by the VA and I am considered a veteran exposed to particulate matter in the new presumptive list has melanoma and any head face or neck cancers listed as presumptive conditions. I had a melanomas and a basal cell carcinoma removed from my right and left for head’s. The melanomas removed in 2013 and the basal cell carcinoma was removed in 2009. The VA has denied me service connection for the scars associated to these two cancers their reasoning for the denial is they requested an examination with medical opinion based on toxic exposure, they do acknowledge that there’s evidence that shows participation in toxic exposure. However, the medical opinion by the examiner does not show an association between my claim disability and in-service toxic exposure. My frustration is I believe that a presumptive condition is supposed to be automatic approval, so I’m confused why they denied this claim and what should I do, when I appeal, this should I go directly to the BVA or do a supplemental appeal? I’ve been down this road before and here in Florida. It appears the supplemental appeals rarely get approved. It is if they just follow the local levels decision I have had better success at the board of veteran appeals , thoughts, ideas and recommendations are appreciated. Attached is the VA’s denial letter.

• Answers 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

3 answers to this question