VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA   Claims Questions | Click To Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles   View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Vertigo Secondary To Tinnitus

Rate this question

vietvet

Question

Hello.

I was 0% SC for tinnitus and bi-lateral hearing loss in 1969.

In 2006 I was rated 10% for the tinnitus, and issued hearing aids.

Can vertigo be claimed as secondary to tinnitus and/or hearing loss? as I

recently had a C&P exam. As I was leaving the doc said "Everything should be OK now" and shook my hand.

Did that mean anything? Appreciate feedback.

• Answers 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

2 answers to this question

Welcome,

I'm no doctor nor audiologist, but I do not see anyway that Tinnitus in and of itself could possibly

induce vertigo. When a person has a Hearing Loss,Tinnitus and Vertigo, and it is medically, completely

investigated, the docs will usually find one route cause of all 3 symptoms.

jmho,

carlie

My first claim had vertigo and tinitus listed as claims, when it was adjudicated it came back tinnitus with vertigo 10%. After two DRO reviews I got them seperated, I now get 10% for each and am appealing the 10% for vertigo, I have been diagnosed with

Vertigo possibly due to Labyrinthitis Dr.XXXX 3/17/94

Vertigo Dr. XXXX 8/7/98

Viral Labyrinthitis PA XXXXX 8/10/98

Intermittent Vertigo Dr.XXXX ENT Consult 9/29/98

Intermittent Vertigo 12/21/98 PA XXXX

Vertigo 2/18/03 Dr. XXXXX

Meniere’s Disease 7/25/03 Dr. XXXXX

Chronic Vertigo 8/5/2003 Dr XXXXXXX

Vestibular Meniere’s 8/7/03 Dr. XXXXXX ENT Consult

my appeal below

I disagree with a 10% rating and believe the evidence warrants a minimum of a 30% rating.

a.) Vertigo has never properly been assessed during a C&P Physical.