VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA   Claims Questions | Click To Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles   View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Ptsd/depression

Rate this question

Leap

Question

Hello Everyone...

Where should I begin... new to the FORUM & here it goes!

IN 2003 I went through a General Court Martial for 3 Offenses and was found not guilty! THe depression/PTSD started during the Investigation and continues to this day...the charges were Rape, Aggravated Assault & Drug Use.

I am a combat vet who recently returned from Afghanistan. Upon my return, I began using drugs and alcohol to drown out some of my experiences I encountered in combat. I was Command Directed to provide a urinalysis and my sample was positive. I admitted to Drug use and believe it or not, received a HONORABLE discharge. THe 214 is coded for Drug Use and Misconduct. Don't ask me how I received an honorable, I just admitted I had a serious problem.

I have been clean for almost 6 Months now (May 05 discharge date). Does anyone have any experience with something Like this? I was recently diagnosed with PTSD and Major Depressive Disorder by the DAllas VA, but can I make a claim with the Drug Addiction & Alocholism as a secondary? DOes the COurt Martial warrant part of my PTSD....

My claim went to the review board on the 2nd of Dec 05 in Waco, Thanks All

• Answers 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

6 answers to this question

As I see it, on the negative side, the VA has a couple of questions they must address if they are to deny your claim for PTSD and Major Depressive Disorder.

1. Quality of service. Since your Drug use was voluntary, they will have to determine if it was not the result of your PTSD and Major Depressive Disorder.