VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA   Claims Questions | Click To Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles   View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Va Home Loan

Rate this question

Hambone11B

Question

Hello guys,

I have a question as I think I might've gone to the wrong link or maybe I just didn't know this was how it worked. I went to ebenefits to get a certificate of eligibility and after submitting it, it stated that my basic entitlement was $36,000. Is that right or is that what I could borrow to fix the house, the 25% thing that goes with a VA Home loan? I was in for 4 years and was discharged with an honorable discharge. Does it mean that I can only use the VA home loan to buy a house worth $36,000? I'm basically just confused about it as this is my first time through this. The COE states at the bottom the following:

The veteran is eligible for the benefits of Chapter 37, Title 38, U.S. Code, subject to any condition(s) cited below. Basic entitlement for veterans who have not previously used home loan benefits is $36,000. Additional entitlement is available for most loans in excess of $144,000. In such cases, the entitlement amount is 25% of the VA loan limit for the county where the property is located. VA county loan limits are adjusted annually, and the current limits are available at www.homeloans.va.gov.

I plan on going to the VA in the next few days to see my social worker and get any info I can. Also, is this something I can go to my VSO for help with or should I just go to a realtor as some info telle me to do. I am 100% SC and have SSD awarded to me as well.

• Answers 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

3 answers to this question

Hello guys,