VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA   Claims Questions | Click To Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles   View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Misdiagnosed with personality disorder not PTSD. I have been diagnosed by at least 8 VA psychiatrists with PTSD, I need HELP

Rate this question

MichaelSipes76

Question

I will make this as succinct as possible due to a recent MVA and some brain injury. I am an honorably discharged army veteran. I was discharged in December 1997. I immediately filed a claim because they misdiagnosed me with a borderline personality disorder, by psychiatrist Dr. Gray at Walter Reed. Which is all over the internet and was common practice to deny benefits. I was seeing a Dr. Mulligan for a few months prior to that and he diagnosed me with atypical depression and anxiety. When he heard she diagnosed me with this other disorder that would deny me benefits he shook his head. He didn't tell me why but I was able to copy all of my military records before leaving the service. I have an email from Dr. Mulligan to Dr. Gray saying he disagreed with her diagnosis and that I was being treated and showing improvement. He stated that my mental condition was a result of extreme stressors brought upon me by my superiors that I worked under. I tried the claim progress myself and was denied twice and was told that unless I had additional information I had a time period to do so or it was final. Well, that's not true as I have been told by numerous veterans. I never went before the board or to Washington to go to the last step. I have been seen by at least 8 different psychiatrists at the VAMC for the past 20 years as well as a psychotherapist, they all have diagnosed and have said you had and have PTSD, not a personality disorder. I was deemed permanently disabled in 2007 through the state of WV for my Anxiety disorder, OCD and depression a