Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

SMC-O ?

Rate this question

756pro

Question

4 answers to this question

In order to obtain SMC at the O rate, you need two SMCs between L and N. An example would be the need for aid and attendance at the L rate and loss of use of the upper or lower extremities at  the L rate. The only other way is to be in receipt of SMC N 1/2 with at least one SMC K award. VA DROs tell me we are only allowed one "bump" under §3.350(f)(3) or (4) based on the M21-1MR. However, the Secretary's regulation doesn't say that. It will be a matter of first impression at the Court should any Vet arrive there with this unique confluence of disabilities. 

SMC is one of the most difficult concepts to absorb. I studied it for almost 5 years before I even began to feel proficient enough to do one of these. I would guess there are probably no more than 10 VA attorneys who do this successfully. A good friend of mine (Robert Chisholm) of CCK law firm is the absolute master of SMC. 

You could have 20 100% schedular ratings but would still only be entitled to SMC S. To try to understand this, I always suggest reading this article explaining it. https://asknod.org/2013/02/27/special-monthly-compensation-what-is-it/

SMC is the only rating system which actually allows pyramiding of disabilities to "leapfrog" ahead to SMC R1 from SMC O.

756pro: if you are rated at the L rate for SMC and you said you have 6 more 100% then you would rated at the -O- rate because every other 50% not included with your L rating will bump you up a 1/2 step. so 6 added 100% would take you their...........

Currently, the M 21 1MR forbids what MrPain7 alleges as being possible via regulation or statute.  DROs regularly forbid what you describe. In fact, they only permit one 100% "bump" under §3.350(f)(4) OR one 1/2 step bump under §3.350(f)(3) but never both and certainly not multiple applications.