VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA   Claims Questions | Click To Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles   View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Retro Disability Compensation

Rate this question

Jimmer

Question

I have a question, maybe you guys can enlightened me.  I have been battling the VA for years  In 2007 the finally awarded me 10% for my left eye, then it was raised to 60%  in 2015.  Then they said they had made a "CUE" on the rating of my eyes, and it should be at 80%.  I am also 50% PTSD, so I am 100% IU.  I filed for disability in 1978 for disability on my eyes, and was denied.  They claim they had no record of me filing at that time.  I want thru my entire claims file and military records page by page, and I found a letter dated August 1, 1978 in which they denied me disability compensation on my eyes, which were approved by a BVA in 2013, giving me retro pay from 2007.   An I entitled to retro pay from 1978?  They VA claims they had no knowledge of me filing in 1978, and I have found a VA document denying me a service corrected disability for the "exact" same condition that I was approved for in 2013.  If this is true, any idea on how I should proceed?   Thanks for all your help guys, it is really appreciated.

5 answers to this question

Maybe.  Certainly the letter is great evidence, but this denial becomes final after a year of not filing a NOD. However, you can file a CUE anytime as long as you can find CUE in the 1978 denial.  Fortunately,  It did sound like VA admitted a CUE, but admitting one back to 1978 is not necessarily the same thing.