VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Ptsd Was Granted By Bva Decision But...?

Rate this question

emptyshell

Question

I have a primary lumbar condition at 30%. I received a 30% secondary to my lumbar condition for pain/mood disorder...actually comes out to a 50% rating due to their "fuzzy math"

Now just recently BVA granted me PTSD. PTSD was given for assault while in the military. Can you get rated for 2 separate mental disorders?

• Answers 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

Perhaps they screwed up and it should be 30% for the pain condition...and maybe the mood was checked over and they determined you really had PTSD which was more prevalent...so what did the PTSD amount show? What are the dates granted for each one too? When you initially applied what claims did you present with?

Did you recently have an exam for ptsd?

Pain/mood may have been overlooked for basically pain related to your back condition and therefor one gave a separate % for the ptsd and not as a mood secondary award.:blink:

SORRY I misread...It was BVA who deemed your ptsd was justified rather than a pain/mood secondary disorder it appears. You must have either put in for ptsd, had a diagnosis somewhere for it or your records validated you have this...So what rating did they give you for the ptsd as a separate claim?

30% back 30% pain and now ?ptsd?

Edited by halos2

Thanks you guys for your input...

I was initially claiming a higher rating on my back which at the time was 20%. I also filed about 16 years ago for PTSD primary