VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA   Claims Questions | Click To Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles   View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Topiramate

Rate this topic

Thank you for reading this and the hadit.com elders for keeping the site going and respectful.

I am writing this in hopes that my experience can help another looking for some info and it helps me express myself.

I am not a Medical professional and my case is unique as all our bodies will behave differently.

I am weeing myself off Topiramate. It was given to me for my pain- many lower herniated discs, neuropathy, nerve damage, severe pain in lower body parts also from the 200 stitches 40 staples and artificial skin. Per my Doc's guidance and a nurses daily phone calls, I am on a guided fasttrack off since I am having BAD side effects- BAD memory short/long term, lothargic, no drive to do anything, slow reaction speed, hard to spell, depressed(on top of PTSD), have failed every test the last 2 semesters in college (Voc Rehab), but before taking this med I had a 3.5 GPA.

Just wanted to put this out there for others.

It did and still does help with the pain but I can't do anything with my brain. I may have to go back on if/when I get off the pain attacks get severe again.

I had tried Gabapentum but stopped in 2 weeks- had nightmares and BAD emotional thoughts!

So now Oxycodone and Methocarbomol (Robaxin) for the pain- it's not perfect but helps. I need to do more meditation, some light exercise and eat healthier which will all help.

For those in pain I hope and pray for you that you find some reilef and what I have said hopefully will help one of you Vets out there.

I hope you all get some rest tonight fellow veterans- and those still serving whether on a rock or on the seven seas.

God bless the United States of America.

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply