Read Disability Claims Articles
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Denied Due To Wrong Contact Info/ C&p Tomorrow

Rate this question

Quint7

Question

Hi all, I'm a 38 y/o firefighter, 1st Gulf War USMC vet. Currently 0% for my knee.

Long story short, after a year I am finally getting my C&P exam tomorrow. I am in Rochester NY so I'm based out of Buffalo VA. I have had knee and back probs since my service (88-94). Knee is well documented, back just as a 'sprain" accordingto the navy doc. Filed for both upon discharge... never thought about it again. Went to college, blah, blah, blah. Collected GI Bill from discharge until 3 years later.

Turns out my back is toast (two discs GONE in lower back. Doc says "you have made the wrong career choices son") and knee was exactly what Navy docs THOUGHT it wasall along, (torn meniscus for 15 YEARS!) but told me "we cant figure it out... tough it out Marine.)

As I reviewed everything to take with me tomorrow (actual MRI films, doc reports, military health records), I thought about this:

I asked for a copy of ALL VA records for me. They gave me them and it said that VA tried to contact me after discharge for exam and letter was returned as undeliverable so claim was denied. I collected GI Bill during that entire time! I called VA and they said "medical is different, doesn't matter if educational had contact info, YOU should've contacted medical to update your info".