VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Ptsd Award

Rate this question

pete

Question

Good morning, I got my brown envelope yesterday-30%-althoughI'm grateful for that I also think it is low. Under the reasons they listed that I am a combat veteran (VN),with a CIB, Bronze star, Purple Heart and Air Medal. They did not mention my Arcom with V device. " A higher evaluation of 50 % is not warranted unles there is reduced reliability and productivity due to symtoms as: flattened affect: circumstantial, circumlocutory, or stereotypoed speech; panic attacks more than once a week; difficulty in understanding complex commands, etc, etc. My VA c&p intern gave a gaf of 69, my va social worker gave me a gaf of 50, my va meds psychiatrist gave me a gaf of 50, and my IMO psychologist gave me a GAF of 45. Where do I go from here? thanks. They also said "Stressor in the military conceded". Nothing mentioned about the two stressor letters in my file about two specific incidents I was involved in which two of my close friends were killed.

• Answers 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

• HadIt.com Elder

Are you employed? If you are unable to work or work at a marginal job this is way to low. I have a hard time understanding how anyone with PTSD could be rated at 30%.

The good thing is that you have opened the door. There is no way you can possibly have all those different GAF's unless you have bi polar depression problems.

My opinion is you should appeal, ask for a hearing and continue to work on your claim.

Good Luck

Guest Namvet6567