VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

New User

Rate this question

Steve1000

Question

• Answers 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

I'm a Vietnam Vet who served with the 25th ARVN in Duc Hoa.

Fortunately, I've been a healthy guy all these years since my discharge in January 1967. Then suddenly, WHAM! - 18 months ago a domino effect began. Since then, I've been diagnosed with PTSD, Diabetes Type2, Hypertension, Parksinson's Disease and then on January 18, 2010 I had Colon Cancer surgery.

The VA messed up with my original intake medical exam. After getting my medical records from the VA so that I could file a claim,I realized that thier readings showed that I was Diabetic, yet, no one ever told me. It wasn't until 8 months later when my private primary care physcian had me do a glucose tolerance test and he confirmed that I'm Diabetic. He prescribed Actos which has my sugar under control. However, I then had a Ratings Exam in Phoenix and the Ratings doctor told me that it didn't appear to him that I had Diabetes. I told him I was on Actos but he never charted it. Therefore, my claim for Diabetes was only awarded 10%. Of course it's on appeal.

What I don't understand is that the VA Regional has scheduled me for a mandatory neuro exam this week. I've "googled" information about neuro ratings exams but have found nothing relating to Parkinson's Disease. Does anyone have any information as to what I should expect during this exam. Is it wise to take all my medications with me?