Read Disability Claims Articles 
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Re-Examination Likely?

Rate this question

RVN1970_1971

Question

Hi This is my first post, but I have read quite a bit. Thanks for the informative posts and all the help I have already received.

I was VERY recently awarded 70% for PTSD. I have a previous 20% disability dating from about 1990 related to Agent Orange, so I'm 80% overall.

"Agent Orange" gives it away - I'm a Vietnam vet, 62 years old. My question is - how 'permanent' is this PTSD disability rating likely to be? Will I be reexamined every two years or so?

I have read quite a bit here on hadit about people being called in for re-examinations. My C&P for PTSD was no fun at all - it took me back through a lot of things that I try to avoid thinking about. I sure do not look forward to doing it again. In fact, that's why I had never filed a claim for the PTSD until recently. I just didn't want to go through that stuff.

I AM still working, if that's a factor. Like some others, the work schedule gives me organization in my life that helps. I won't be working forever.

Also, I have had a claim for diabetes bouncing around for over a year. My civilian doctor had recently submitted more info relative to that claim. Will resolution of that claim re-trigger looking at everything? It would not change the overall disability rating. Should I just let that proceed or withdraw it?

I'm just asking how does all of this stuff come together - does the general 'over 55 rule' on re-examinations apply to me?

Thanks

• Answers 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

4 answers to this question

RVN

Yours is the 64,000 dollar question that many of us ask. I will speculate an answer, tho remember its just that..speculation.