VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA Claims Question 

Click To Read Current Posts  

Read Disability Claims Articles 
View All Forums | Chats and Other Events | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Suing The Veterans Administration

Rate this question

garveyt

Question

All: I am a Vietnam Veteran (67-68) with a 40% service connected disability for diabetes, hearing loss and left & right side neuropathy. I have been playing the VA paper game for over two years with additional service connected claims and am really losing my patience. I have had two friendss die within the past 6 months both Vietnam Vet. I am feeling that the VA delays our claims unnecessarily in the hope that we die before they are settled so they need not pay us any compensation. If there are any Veterans that have sued the VA in this forum. I would appreciate some feedback on your experiences in court. Thanks. Tom!

• Answers 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

5 answers to this question

Tom- I am a civilian and sued the VA for wrongful death of my husband -a Vietnam Vet.

I settled with the US of A in 1997 on that-

If the VA malpractices against a veteran or uses medical practices that incur additional disability or death like- giving wrong meds, misdiagnosis, failure to follow up on tests results- etc---

and the veteran , due to these situations of negligence, incurs additional, documented disability the vet can sue the VA and/or file a Section 1151 claim-

If I could sue them again tomorrow I would because it was easier to do that then to get my claims resolved-

VA lawyers know how to read.

That fact makes a big difference in the way the VA handles a FTCA claim.

I think you are as frustrated as many of us here- due to your claim-