VA Disability Community via Hadit.com

Click To Ask Your VA   Claims Questions | Click To Read Current Posts 

Read Disability Claims Articles   View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users |  Search  | Rules 

• [[Block banner-logo-2024 is throwing an error]]
  • donate-be-a-hero.png

Nod Accepted By Vamc Atlanta Advice Needed

Rate this question

tonio

Question

Good Morning my fellow Hadit members I am up burning the midnight oil as usual and I've been pouring over our forums and posts reading and reading since 3 pm and I am perplexed about my current NOD. I will explain it as simple as possible and maybe someone has the answer. I am a former Homeland Security Officer ( in Washington D.C.) that was hit by a truck in the line of duty back in June 2005. I was under the schedular limits to be award IU since I am at 80% total now this should be a no brainer right ?

Long story short there was 5 months of workman's comp then I was cut off and had to move in with family ( Atlanta ) four years later I was finally granted a retirement (2009) from DHS / OPM.gov for the injuries sustained in the accident and the military injuries that were exasperated as a result. I filled for SSN benefits afterwards they were awarded in early 2007.

At the time of my accident I was 50% with several pending decisions from VAMC. The VAMC in Atlanta Granted my Sleep Apnea 30% initially then to 50% after another sleep study & C-Pap. Then my file went to AMC, why I don't know ?? Nevertheless I had a bilateral surgery on my left knee (2007) in relation to my 30% non union of the patella Right knee.