Read Disability Claims Articles 
 Search | View All Forums | Donate | Blogs | New Users | Rules 

• homepage-banner-2024-2.png

• donate-be-a-hero.png

Do I Have A Claim

Rate this question

440Tina

Question

I am a honorably discharded veteran of the US Navy. I served from October 1988 to March 1991. I dont know where to start with this process. I am seeking your advise regarding the process in filing a disability claim through the Veterans Affairs.

A quick synopses of my issue- in 2000 I had a stroke that affected the right side of my brain. Because of the stroke, I have lost my left field of vision, my word association and problems remembering things. I was only 32 when this happened. I had extensive testing trying to find out the reason why a seamingly healthy 32yo suffered a stroke. I had an echo cardiogram with bubble study that revealed I had a hole in my heart. The cardiologist and neurologist feel that because of the hole, a blood clot was able to travel through it and to my brain, therefore, causing my stroke. I had open heart surgery in 2001 to repair the Atrial Septal Defect.